Falls Church, VA January 22, 2008 – The Data Interchange Standards Association (DISA), a not-for-profit organization that supports the development of cross-industry e-business interchange standards, announces the Call for Nominations for its 2008 Leadership and Service Awards. These awards include the 2008 Edward A. Guilbert e-Business Professional Award and the 2008 Earl J. Bass e-Business Achievement Award.

These awards traditionally recognize the creativity, dedication and vision of those individuals who contribute to and participate in e-business standards development. DISA will honor the 2008 award recipients on Monday evening, September 23, at the ASC X12 General Session to be held at the OMNI William Penn Hotel in Pittsburgh, PA.

According to DISA Chairman of the Board Byron Warren of SysCom Strategies, “These awards are a vital component of DISA’s tradition. They recognize outstanding individuals representing a broad spectrum of industries and interest groups that advance the foundation of electronic trade and commerce by supporting and promoting standards used for business-to-business data exchange.”

2008 Edward A. Guilbert Award
Created in 1991, the Edward A. Guilbert Award honors a select group of professionals who have made significant and enduring career contributions in the field of e-business message development. The award is named after Edward A. Guilbert who served as a logistics officer during the Berlin Airlift of 1948 and later created the first system to exchange data electronically.

2008 Earl J. Bass e-Business Achievement Award
The Earl J. Bass e-Business Achievement Award recognizes outstanding achievements and leadership in support of the development and use of electronic data interchange (EDI) standards and eXtensible Markup Language (XML) messages over the past year. Earl J. Bass, hailed as an industry leader, was the principal author of the first set of EDI standards manuals based on input from transportation workgroups.

For additional information on DISA’s Leadership and Service Awards described above, including details about the nomination procedures and recipient selection, please visit www.disa.org, click on “about” and follow the links to “Awards & Recognition”. Please note that all nominations must be submitted by June 13, 2008 (5:00 pm EDT). Call (703) 970-2059 with questions.